April 14, 2009

Format of IPL 2009

Leave a Comment
DLF IPL 2009IPL 2009, similar to IPL 2008, involves the following eight teams:

1. Bangalore Royal Challengers
2. Chennai Super Kings
3. Deccan Chargers
4. Delhi Daredevils
5. Kings XI Punjab
6. Kolkata Knight Riders
7. Mumbai Indians
8. Rajasthan Royals.

Group Stages
In the group stages, each team will be playing 14 matches, meeting each opponent team twice. A win will fetch two points and a tie/ no result will fetch one point. At the end of the group stage, four top-placed teams will qualify for the next level.

Semi-finals/ Finals
The top four teams will meet in the semi-finals, which will be a knock-out match. The winners of the two semi-finals will proceed to the finals. The finals will decide the winner of the IPL 2009 tournament.

Number of Matches
Group stage: 56 matches (18 April 2009 to 21 May 2009)
Semi-finals: 2 matches (22 May 2009 and 23 May 2009)
Finals: 1 match (24 May 2009)


Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting my blog. We value your comments. All comments will be published, positive or negative.