September 15, 2008

McGain will be in India

Leave a Comment
Andrew Symonds omitted for Indian tour

Australia has confirmed the 15-member test team for the Indian tour commencing on September 27, with a two-day tour game against Rajasthan Cricket Association's Centre of Excellence. The Australians will play four test matches in India. The first match is scheduled to be played between Oct 9 and Oct 13 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

The Australian squad will be as follows:
  1. Ricky Ponting (Captain)
  2. Matthew Hayden
  3. Phil Jaques
  4. Michael Hussey
  5. Michael Clarke
  6. Simon Katich
  7. Shane Watson
  8. Brad Haddin (Wicket keeper)
  9. Brett Lee
  10. Jason Krejza
  11. Mitchell Johnson
  12. Peter Siddle
  13. Bryce McGain
  14. Stuart Clark
  15. Doug Bollinger

Andrew Symonds Out
The notable omission from the squad is Andrew Symonds. Symonds was a central figure in the race row that surrounded Harbhajan Singh when India toured Australia in January. He was also a victim of crowd abuse during the previous one-day tour of India.

Shane Watson In
Shane Watson makes it to the test squad. Shane Watson will hope to repeat his success in India, when he was part of the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League. In fact, his all-round performance in IPL is the key factor in his return to the Australian team.

Bowling Department
Jason John Krejza, right arm off-break bowler and Bryce McGain will look for some help from the expected spinner-friendly tracks. One of them would play alongside the pace trio of Brett Lee, Stuart Clark and Mitchell Johnson. Peter Siddle or Doug Bollinger might be in the squad if Australia decides to go in with five bowlers.

Probably, this is one of the less experienced squads from Australia to visit India. They have only four players who have played in India before. The Indians would be smiling at the absence of Symonds, as he is a good player of spin and has tormented the Indians on more than one occasion.


Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting my blog. We value your comments. All comments will be published, positive or negative.